About Me

Single Wing

Inside of your Jeep, since the first day I bought it, there hangs from the rearview mirror a small, silver, single wing on a short string. I could tell right away that it was important to you, but I didn't know why.

As I slowly made you car mine, I would always look at it and try think of a reason why it was there and what it meant to you. I had all kinds of theories, from a secret girlfriend to an important gift from a friend.

But what I always came back to was the idea that it represented the secret or hidden parts of you that I have never truly known and would never know---those things that are true of all people that only exist inside of those people because they are not shareable. I came to think of it as a representation of the life of your mind as an individual. It is, in that way, what is truly lost by your dying, and I love it because of that reminder.

A while after I had owned your Jeep for many months, I asked your ex what the wing was. She told about where you got and why it was important to you, but that story didn't matter.

I know what it is.

Home
Posts

Join my feed to stay up to date:

Atom Feed
Gemini Feed